After The Fair

22 May

As predicted, the Renegade Craft Fair was AWESOME. This thing was enormous, taking up the entire area inside of the Palmer Events Center. The space was pretty much filled to bursting with amazing crafters, artisans and their appreciators. Over 200 sellers set up shop as well as a few craft stations allowing folks to make DIY bracelets, wallets, buttons, and more.

I did my best to visit every vendor in the few hours I was there but there’s no way I could have thoroughly investigated every single one of them in just one afternoon. I picked up business cards for the shops that really excited me… Needless to say, I walked out of there with an enormous stack of ’em. Here’s just SOME of the cards I gathered:

A sampling of cards

I walked in there telling myself only to make a modest few purchases as I’m living on a tight budget right now but I just couldn’t help scooping up a couple of goodies.

One of the friendliest sellers there was Lindsey of CleanGetAway. She was fun to talk to, super informative, funny, all of that. We chatted for a good amount of time while I tried to decide between her delicious scented Sassafras and Sunnyside Scrubber soaps. She had a really nice solid lotion tester bar in her display which I thought was awesome. Not only are the soaps Lindsey makes with her husband beautiful, but each one is 100% vegan and wrapped in recyclable or compostable packaging. Very cool.

Sunnyside Scrubber Soap from CleanGetawaySoap

Another favorite in the bath & beauty category was Nepenthe’s Bathtime Soap. Her products were affordably priced, super cute, and amazing-smelling. I ended up buying her lemongrass scented soap but I wanted to buy many more. She actually had one there that smelled exactly like dirt. Dirt, I tell you! That was a specialty soap for sure, only for the adventurous, but I loved it. It reminded me of what it smelled like to be a little kid playing in the yard, digging and digging for no good reason. Awesome.

I might be one of these

I was clearly having a scent-obsessed day, so it makes sense that I also purchased an amazing almond scented solid lotion from Soap Addict. I wanted to buy at least one their soaps but I told myself that I didn’t need three new bars of soap. Not to worry though, as I received a coupon with my purchase that’ll make ordering some yummy soaps from Soap Addict easy-peasy in the future. I really appreciate their approach to making soap and body products that are both earth and body friendly. I found the following on their About Me section of their website.

I only create products that I would use myself, and they are all completely free of parabens, phthalates, artificial colors, fragrances and preservatives. In other words, you won’t find any junk here, only natural, skin-loving ingredients.

All of my products are vegetarian, and most are vegan. The only non-vegan ingredients I use are honey and beeswax – I heart bees. And everything is cruelty-free and animal friendly – no animal testing ever.

One of my other passions is gardening, and I frequently use homegrown herbs and veggies in my soaps and products.

I did manage to buy myself two non-bath related items at the fair. I have to keep one of the items secret as it’s for my friend’s birthday and I’m worried she might see it on this blog. The second purchase was two of these mini journals covered in gorgeous blue maps from Donovan Beeson.

Mini Map Journal

It’s kinda tough to see the maps here but trust me, they are truly lovely. Her booth was the first we hit up upon entering the enormous event center and was also the very last. I was immediately taken by her adorable alternative to a business card — a tiny little pencil with her info etched into it. I was severely tempted by the book plate stickers that said “______’s fucking book. Don’t steal!” (or something along those lines) but I recently got my hands on an actual embosser that says “From the library of [my full name]” so I had to pass that one up. Oh well.

Over the course of the next week or two I’m going to try to write up a little bit about some of my favorite vendors I unfortunately didn’t get to buy anything from. There were sadly so so many I just couldn’t afford to buy from but I’m going to do my part to support them here on this blog. Hope doing so sends some potential buyers their way!

One Response to “After The Fair”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Big Weekends For Crafts « Pero Nunca - June 10, 2011

    […] Craft Fair. This is not an event to be missed! In case you missed it, you can always check out my write-up of the Austin version of Renegade. Do NOT miss […]

Leave a Reply

