Getchoo Some Map Art

7 Jun

The walls of my apartment are covered in maps — COVERED. Mostly you’ll find traditional maps — the map of India my grandmother took on her trip there during the ’60s, the map I was so impressed by the night I met my now-girlfriend, a Peter’s Map, a map of the city I live in, my favorite antique store map find–a vintage bright blue and purple map of Greece… The list goes on.

Right now my goal is to up the number of non-traditional maps in my home. Illustrated maps, art maps, decorative maps — whatever you want to call ’em, I want more. So here’s a smattering of the goodies I’ve found poking around the internet during my own search for map-related wall art.

[Click on any of the following pictures to go to the Etsy shop where you can buy ’em]

CityFabric Brooklyn

Brooklyn from above by CityFabric

This map is a hand stretched [canvas] print of Greenpoint [Brooklyn] depicting all of the building from overhead. This type of map is called a “figure-ground” which juxtaposes the “mass” of the buildings with the “void” of all the other open-space, streets networks and infrastructure.

*********************************************************************

Lake Minnetonka by Crafterall

Lake Minnetonka paper cut by Crafterall

San Francisco by Crafterall

San Francisco papercut by Crafterall

Crafterall‘s papercuts are freaking GORGEOUS. Awesome bonus: you can pick the colors of your topography papercut from the following chart:

color chart

*******************************************************************

NYC Boroughs map by VassiSlavova

NYC Boroughs map by VassiSlavova

*********************************************************************

Modern Style OLD WORLD MAP hand pulled large screen print set of 3 Peacock Blue/Gray by ScreenEggsAndHam

by ScreenEggsAndHam

*********************************************************************

Custom World Map Collection of 6 - Screenprinted by hand by CallaghanArtGallery

Comes in many colors! by CallaghanArtGallery

*********************************************************************

Pittsburgh, PA map by peaceful traveler

Pittsburgh by peacefultraveler

I have been eyeing pretty much every map by peacefultraveler for over a year now. They make maps of most of the major US cities you’d hope to find and even does custom orders if I’m not wrong. Please do check ’em out!

Chicago map by PeacefulTraveler

Chicago map by PeacefulTraveler

*********************************************************************

Embroidered Heartstrings Map by FelixStreetStudio

Embroidered Heartstrings Map by FelixStreetStudio

This embroidered heartstrings map by FelixStreetStudio is great for couples doing long-distance or for families living in separate cities due to work or divorce. I know I for one would have loved this as a kid when my father had to move to Chicago for work, leaving the kids and wife behind. Bonus: the map comes in various color schemes if yellow doesn’t suit your palette.

*********************************************************************

Singapore Mapcut by StudioKMO

Singapore Mapcut by StudioKMO

Unfortunately, this mapcut is out of my price range ($800!) but I love it nonetheless. StudioKMO has a series of mapcuts of large cities like London, Seattle, Vancouver, Paris, and so on as well as interesting (and less expensive!) line maps of Atlanta, Washington DC, Chicago, and San Francisco to name a few.

Boston line map by StudioKMO

Boston line map by StudioKMO

*********************************************************************

That’s all for now, folks! Let me know in the comments if you find anything beautiful worth sharing.

2 Responses to “Getchoo Some Map Art”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Map Decor « Pero Nunca - June 7, 2011

    […] while back I posted on my favorite DIY map crafts. Yesterday I posted about my favorite map-related wall art I’d found on Etsy. Today, to round things out, I’ve got a post full of map-related […]

  2. Map, Maps Everywhere! « Pero Nunca - June 8, 2011

    […] week I posted on my favorite DIY map crafts. Yesterday I posted about my favorite map-related wall art I’d found on Etsy. Today, to round things out, I’ve got a post full of map-related […]

Leave a Reply

