Put a bird on it!

30 Jun

For some reason, I can never get the voices of Sleater-Kinney’s Carrie Brownstein and SNL’s Fred Armisen saying “Put a bird on it!!” out of my head. Have you seen that Portlandia sketch!? So good. For some reason the whole bird craze goes hand in hand with hipsters learning to silkscreen in my mind. Don’t get me wrong — I love birdeez and I love silkscreening… But you know what I mean.

Anyway, I’ve tried my hand at silkscreening once or twice but I never actually ended up with anything to write home about. Every attempt pretty much left me with a whole lot of mess and frustration on my hands. I think the problem has always been that the tutorials I’ve used in the past have left out some important tidbit of information that a klutz like myself needs in order to get the silkscreening process correctly set in motion. So I figured I’d just give up trying…

Until now.

Internet sleuthing to the rescue!

Mike of Paper Tigers Design has very kindly created an entire silkscreening tutorial website (called SilkscreenTutorial.com, natch), complete with detailed images that make it very unlikely that you’ll ever screw up as badly as I have in the past.

From the website’s “About” section:

Silkscreentutorials.com is an online resource dedicated to providing in-depth information, reviews and tutorials for screen printing. Whether you are a complete beginner or have already started your journey into the world of screen printing, this guide will provide all the necessary information to get you started quickly, producing professional results regardless of your budget.

Allllllright! Sounds pretty great. Plus, look at this super cute example he made:

Check out those birds!

Time to get silkscreening!

Leave a Reply

